E911 Legislation

Seventeen states currently have E911 legislation requiring enterprises over a certain size, occupying multiple floors of a building or those purchasing a new PBX to implement E911 to protect their employees and visitors. Click on a state to review its E911 legislation status.


E911 Legislation MapTexasLouisianaColoradoIllinoisVirginiaWashingtonMinnesotaMichiganVermontMaineConnecticutMassachusettsFloridaMississippiArkansasKentuckyAlaskaCaliforniaOregonIdahoMontanaNorth DakotaNevadaUtahWyomingArizonaNew MexicoSouth DakotaNebraskaOklahomaKansasIowaMissouriWisconsinIndianaOhioWest VirginiaNew HampshireNew YorkPennsylvaniaNew JerseyNew YorkDelawareMarylandTennesseeAlabamaGeorgiaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaHawaii

Current E911 State Legislation

This reference document contains summaries of E911 state regulations and legislation.
Download the PDF

Proposed National E911 Legislation

The National Emergency Number Association (NENA) has drafted model E911 legislation and a recommendation to the FCC regarding standardized, national E911 requirements. Many states currently use this as a guideline for their own laws.
Download the PDF

E911 Legislation by State

To read more detailed information regarding a specific state's E911 legislation, click the corresponding link below.



Determine your E911 Liability Risk in 3 Minutes