Michigan E911 Legislation
Summary of Michigan E911 Regulations
Requirements vary based on number of buildings and square footage. Generally, the specific location of each communications device needs to be provided unless an alternative method of notification and adequate means of signaling and responding to emergencies is maintained 24-hours a day. MLTS operators in violation of the act after December 31, 2011 may be assessed a fine by the Michigan Public Utilities Commission from $500.00 to $5,000.00 per offense. * E911 legislation is currently in effect in Michigan with a compliance deadline of December 31, 2019. - MCL 484.901 et seq.